The Liebster Award


It’s always nice when fellow writers shout out peer writers through recognition and awards. Although awards are great, I am not a big fan of talking about myself. I don’t like to do it if I don’t have to. Talented funny girl, Author Donna Joy Usher of Australia, says I must chatter about myself because she named me as one of the authors she recently deemed worthy to receive “The Liebster Award.”

The Liebster Award goes way back; so far in the past it’s older than grandma’s girdle. No one knows who started this award system or when it began. Authors have been loyally passing it on to other writer’s for a long, long time. What I do know is that receiving the Liebster Award means: (1) I must share 11 random facts about myself; (2) answer 11 questions set by the awarding author, (3) set a whole new list of 11 questions and pass it on to 11 new authors. Cool, right!

The aim of the award is to introduce you to 11 new blog sites and to learn more about the creative authors that manage them. So, let’s get started.

11 random facts about me

1) Back in the 90s, I sold a lot of what I owned and bought a three-month plane ticket to Europe. I liked the people and countries so much, that I threw my return ticket into the garbage. I wound up living in a few countries, primarily the newly formed countries of Slovenia and Croatia. After two years in Southeastern Europe, I took off for Asia, spending more than a year there.

2) I don’t like rap music, especially the mixed rap songs where a gorgeous woman is singing beautifully when some guy suddenly swipes her microphone and starts talking smack. I don’t get it. At all!

3) I love all four seasons of the year and the sometimes drastic climatic changes that Northern Illinois has to offer. Variances in weather can deliver spectacular views like massive white snowfalls that blind you in glistening daylight. Chilly to the bone ice storms that leave barren tree limbs glossed in silvery frozen delight. A late October day where the air is cool and crisp, a 58 degree sun radiates your face, and millions of russet colored leaves are a rainbow to your eyes. Let’s not forget the spectacle of springtime blossoming around us or the dirty dark blue awesomeness of intensely charged thunderstorms rushing in upon us from the cornfields to the west. That’s a great time to make a few sandwiches and check it all out. Nature’s weather can be a special, unforgettable sight.

4) When I was a tiny baby, I learned how to throw my toys from the crib and target family members near by. Mom said I wanted attention to alert someone I was hungry. A full bottle of milk calmed me, but babies grow, and eventually the milk well ran dry. One day soon, my dad came home with a cow.

5) To my disbelief, I have three college degrees. I have a Bachelors in Speech Communications, a Masters of Management, and a Masters of Marketing.

6) As a youth, I was involved with the Boy Scouts for a number of years. I liked the camping, hiking, climbing, and many of the other outdoor activities. One night when the family was asleep, my older sister heard something down the hallway. She arose to see what was going on. She found me standing over the waste basket, peeing, and wearing my scout shirt and tie. She asked me, “Brian, what are you doing?” Apparently, standing in my socks and undies, I responded, “I’m going out to practice my Boy Scout stuff.” I was sleepwalking. LOL

7) I enjoy all-you-can-eat buffets and smorgasbords. There are methods for maximizing this special kind of dining experience. More so, a “how-to” guide on how to get it done the right way is in the works. In order to satisfy your enthusiasm on learning more about this topic, full details will be explained in a future book.

8) I’m not a style guy and dress very modestly. For the most part, I dislike new clothes or expensive ones. I prefer well-worn and sometimes torn, faded, casual sportswear. I’ve worn a ball cap since I was six or seven years old. If we met in person, you would still find a cap on my head today.

9) I have a disturbing situation going on with my head. My ears are crooked; the left ear is lower than my right ear. Not only is this an alarming visual, this unbalanced approach when trying to meet girls has created numerous verbal debates. Imagine sitting at “The Hog” (a wonderful country buffet) on a first date, and being repeatedly harassed about my right ear being higher on my head than my left ear. Now this is uncalled for. One must hold back his fork and spoon, speaking to disclaim the false allegation. “It’s not my right ear that’s the problem. It’s my left ear; it’s lower.” (tilts head to the right 15 degrees, balanced, and debate quashed). “Let’s eat!”

10) I come from a large family and am second youngest. I have five sisters and a brother. Together, we have produced 14 children. My mother remarried after my father passed away. Her new husband, who lost his wife around the same time as my dad, had six boys and two girls. They produced 18 children and eight grandchildren. Yes, there’s fertile ground in my family.

11) I like it better when people who think they’re awesome singers, don’t sing when I’m around. I’ve known a lot of people who believe they’re undiscovered rock stars. Don’t you believe the solidarity of an abandoned warehouse, or the sanctity of a private shower, or the yodeling magic of a distant mountaintop, is a much better place for their rock-n-roll lights to shine?

11 Questions from Author Donna Joy Usher

1. If you could choose to be any animal, which would you choose and why?

I think being the king of the jungle would be the way to go. Lions get to watch over all the inhabitants of their domain plus they have many food choices.

2. Which book have you read more than any other and why?

“The Richest Man in Babylon” by George S. Clason, is an insightful book of financial parables. Written in simple English, the rules to securing wealth are as old as humanity. These principles hold fast today.

3. If you could choose one person to totally erase from history who would it be and why?

Adolf Hitler! I don’t agree with genocide.

4. Tell us about the project you are working on and one that you are planning to start.

I’m currently working on a book promotion for my blog. The results gathered from this promotion will determine the course of my next writing project (#hint).

5. If you won 30 million dollars in the national lottery what would you do?

I would buy a customized bus and tour North America doing book promotions. I’d coordinate with fellow authors to tour with me in various cities in the USA and Canada. We’d have book signings, giveaways, seminars, and lots of other cool promotions.

6. What part of your body do you like the most and which do you like the least?

I like my ribs. They’ve taken their share of lumps but never has one of them been broken. I really don’t like my butt. My backside has cost me so much money through the years. How would you like it if you had to pay for two seats to the ball game when you’re going there solo!

7. What is the thing you are most scared of?

I don’t like creatures that have more than four legs, especially spiders.

8. If you could swap lives with one person for a day who would you chose?

I’d switch with Chef Emeril for a day. He gets to cook lots of delicious foods and eat it all day long. I would also make sure I had plenty of doggie bags so my trip back to reality would be fulfilling.

9. What is the one thing that you can not do without?

Hot showers are the best. I don’t know if any of you have gone a period of time when you only had icy cold water to shower with, but I have. Let me tell you, you learn to shower quickly when you’re shivering.

10. What’s the thing you are most proud of?

I’m most proud of my two boys. They’re good guys, handsome and polite, and they always tell me that I’m a better cook than their mother. Hahaha.

11. If you could choose anywhere in the world to live where would it be and why?

I desire to return to the southern base of the Swiss Alps in Northeastern Slovenia. From there, I am also near to the Croatian seaside. I love the people and the laid back lifestyle. The girls have great legs there, as well.

11 Authors receiving the Liebster Award:

Elyse Draper – http://elysedraper.webs.com/  – @AuthorElyseD

Dina Rae – http://dinarae.co/  – @HaloOfTheDamned

Amber Housey – http://www.theflipsidestories.com/  – @Imaflipsider

Gary Vanucci – http://www.ashenclaw.com/  – @AshenclawRealm

Shannon MacLeod – http://www.shannonmacleod.com/  – @TheMacLeod

Gale Minchew – http://galeminchew.com/  – @GaleMinchew

Raine Thomas – http://rainethomas.com/  – @Raine_Thomas

Ashley Fontainne – http://www.ashleyfontainne.com/  – @AshleyFontainne

Laura Mercurio – http://iamlauramercurio.com/  – @LauraLME

Ben Woodard – http://www.booksbyben.com/  – @BenSWoodard

Lorna Suzuki – http://www.newmobileme.com/imagochronicles9/IMAGO_FANTASY_REALM/Welcome.html – @LornaSuzuki

11 Questions for my award-winning authors

1) If you could write 75 words (or less) that the President would quote in a State of the Union address to the American people, what would you say?

2) What have you experienced as the pros and cons of Twitter?

3) If you had to sing a song on American Idol, what song would you sing, and why would you choose that song?

4) What is the most embarrassing moment that has happened to you on a date (or, with your spouse)?

5) If you could sit and chat with a deceased author from history, who would that be, and why did you choose that author?

6) Imagine you’re invisible and you are required to follow Charlie Nitric around for one day. What would you expect to witness and what can you imagine that might surprise you (be nice and clean, lol)?

7) If you had a 60-second time slot for a Superbowl commercial, how would your advertisement play out?

8) How would you describe your laughter? Example: insensitive wheezing…; hysterical cackling…; loud, obnoxious bursts of hahaha’s…; you get my point. Please explain.

9) What things that people do annoy you the most?

10) If you could live in another era in time, when would that be, and why?

11) Go ahead. You know you want to. Please provide us a 100 word quote from one of your books (list the book title, as well).

Thank you, fabulous writers!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by kelliannesweeney on February 26, 2013 - 6:09 pm

    Hi Brian!
    I was excited to see a new post from you in my inbox :) Ive missed you. Hope is hunky dory!

    • #2 by charlie nitric on February 26, 2013 - 6:15 pm

      Hey Kelli. I hope you enjoy my post. Everything is fine, thank you. How’s it going with you? :)

  2. #3 by kelliannesweeney on February 26, 2013 - 6:31 pm

    I always enjoy your posts! I love your writing. I ain’t lyin’. I’m looking at my previous comment and have noticed that I left out a word. Ah well, I guess hope is hunky dory, but I was really saying that I hoped things were going that way for you. Things have been rather up & down for me this last year but its all fodder for writing you know.
    Take care my friend,
    Kelli

    • #4 by charlie nitric on February 26, 2013 - 7:30 pm

      Ahhh very true. Everything in life is an adventure, therefore, also a story to be told ;).

  3. #5 by Jenn on February 26, 2013 - 7:22 pm

    Hi Bri! Outstanding showcase of your amazing writing ability and your slap happy comedic personality! Enjoyed this post immensely as I giggled, heehee’d, and haha’d my way through some rather humorous content! You should be so kind to give us more! :)

    • #6 by charlie nitric on February 26, 2013 - 7:35 pm

      Hello Jenn. I’m glad you giggled and heehee’d, but, I was being serious. LOL. Thank you for reading and for commenting. :)

  4. #7 by Kendra Richards on February 26, 2013 - 10:31 pm

    Wow. This was interesting to read! You have experienced a lot of neat things. That’s awesome that you’ve visited so many different places! :) I bet that was truly interesting and lots of fun. ;)

    • #8 by charlie nitric on February 26, 2013 - 10:55 pm

      Hey Kendra. Yes, I enjoyed living overseas. The people are in Europe are great. Love them! Thank you for reading me and I’m glad you like my post. :)

  5. #9 by Amber Housey on February 27, 2013 - 9:35 am

    Thanks Brian! I’ve missed chatting with you. Life gets busy. I will work on my 11 questions. The pressure. :) Thanks again. You’re the best!

    • #10 by charlie nitric on February 27, 2013 - 9:57 am

      Hi Amber. I can’t wait to read your Liebster Award “confessions” lol. Life does make us all run around in different directions. Everyone should read your children’s book, “Just Because.” Actually, it’s not just for children, is it?! I hope you and your family are doing well. Thank you. :)

  6. #11 by Ashley Fontainne on February 27, 2013 - 10:13 am

    Thank you for including me Brian!

    • #12 by charlie nitric on February 27, 2013 - 10:22 am

      Hi Ashley. How could I not include you? Southern authors…sheesh! LOL :D

  7. #13 by Emma on February 27, 2013 - 12:31 pm

    You rock! You just upped and headed to Europe and threw away your return ticket. That is brave and brilliant.
    God bless you and your ears. :)

    • #14 by charlie nitric on February 27, 2013 - 1:39 pm

      Hi Emma. It was a great experience. One thing that I loved and will always remember, is observing the tunnel building project as I crossed via ferry from Calais to Dover. Amazing! Thank you for visiting me here. :)

  8. #15 by Piper Bayard on March 1, 2013 - 11:04 am

    Hi Charlie. Nice to get to know you a bit. Very brave of you with the Europe thing. What a wonderful adventure! And it sounds like your family could definitely show the Brady Bunch a thing of two. Have a great day. :)

    • #16 by charlie nitric on July 25, 2013 - 1:20 pm

      Hi Piper –

      Europe was a blast, and growing up in a large family was…fun and hectic. LOL. Happy Thursday to you. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34,265 other followers

