Drawing Scenes and Characters


Big teeth smileA month ago, I finally broke down and invested in technology. This is a big deal for me since I’m not a guy that embraces tech items. I don’t own a smart phone, an iPad, an iPod, a laptop, a Kindle reader, or any of the other devices that many of you most likely possess. I’m not a “things” guy. I buy what I need and I don’t need much. So, when the idea popped into my head that I should start drawing out scenes and skits, I was unsure about how to get my drawings on the computer. Drawing by hand and scanning each drawing for uploading to my hard drive seemed – so archaic. With all the technology out there today, I knew there was a way illustrators are creating art directly on their computers. I’ve messed with notepad and paint programs from Microsoft, but really, I couldn’t come close to drawing a picture that resembled anything Earthly. Google helped me out with that problem.

I discovered that there are tablets made specifically for artists and illustrators. I am neither one of those, but I do have the desire to draw. After researching a couple of weeks, I decided to buy a Wacom tablet called the Bamboo Splash. I think this is the device a parent would initially buy their grade school aged child so she/he could get their artistic feet wet. It’s basic and inexpensive ($85.00 USD) in comparison to the more advanced, higher end tablets. Apparently these drawing pads have been around for quite a few years. Who knew!

The Bamboo Splash is the perfect art pad for me, an adult beginner. At this point, I’m very happy with my Wacom and frustrated with my progress. I’m not close to maximizing all the techniques an artist can apply when using this item. However, I have completed a number of simple cartoon drawings. I believe that in time, the drawings will enhance, or compliment, my story telling. I would appreciate your opinions in this matter so please give me your feedback.

One of the first drawings I did is below this paragraph. It’s called “Spider on a Line.” The story behind a “Spider on a Line” dates back to when I was an eight-year old kid. My siblings still talk about this true story at family outings. They burst out in hysterics and can’t finish talking. To a little kid, trapped where I was, there was nothing funny about it. You will read about this story in the near future.Spider on a lineThe next drawing is also one of my first drawings. Notice how I’ve graduated from crayons and pencils? The marker illustrates much more defined, fluid lines. Maybe I should have called the guy “Charlie in the Box,” instead of Jack. Who’s Jack? Charlie is the guy who used to hide in closets or behind doors, jumping out to scare the wits out his sisters – “Surprise!” Ha - jack in the boxThe following pictures I drew this past week on my new Wacom. In the sketch, “Anger (Please Wait),” I tried to capture anger in the face of a frustrated computer user experiencing that dreaded hourglass delay. The angrier I get at the hourglass, it seems to prolong my agony with a longer delay. My “antagonizer” seems like he’s laughing back at me with those beady little eyes. What an obnoxious, pixellated little brat!Please Wait“Faces” is an experiment drawing character doodles. “Flying Eyes” is kind of cool and I may expand on that drawing for a more detailed character in the future. “Mushroom guy” is quite polite, but “Stud” is rather handsome. Which character makes you weak in the knees? facesTen days ago, I was stung by a wasp on the back of my upper arm (triceps area). My picture “The Sting” was inspired by that brutal wasp attack. I believe I invented a new insect in my drawing. The StingThe picture at the top of this post is called “Big Teeth Smile.” Kind words of praise get me grinning from ear to ear. It represents how good I feel when people read and enjoy my work. Your time spent here at my blog or engaging me on Twitter is appreciated. Thank you.

Lastly, the “Sleepy Edits” drawing is my most recent doodle. It represents how I feel many a night on course to slumberville as I shut down my computer. I wonder what Mr. Sleepy Edits is thinking as his eye lids grow heavier, slowly dozing off into a good night’s snore? Sleepy editsGoodnight, all. :)

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sarah LaFleur on September 7, 2013 - 9:22 pm

    We’ve owned a Wacom tablet for over a decade and love it! Enjoy your new toy :)

    • #2 by charlie nitric on September 7, 2013 - 9:31 pm

      Hi Sarah -

      I do like my Wacom Bamboo. I’d love to figure out how to click and color in enclosed areas without having to “paint” those areas in. I’m currently using Artrage III and totally in the learning stage. I hope I evolve more quickly :D. Thank you for reading and commenting. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34,240 other followers

