Bunkle’s Int’l World Turtle Day Speech


free online image courtesy of http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/images/

Good morning everyone. I’m here on your lovely Los Angeles beach to speak to you about my obsession. My passion is for tortoises and I’m the spokes turtle for the American Tortoise Rescue (ATR) mission http://www.tortoise.com/. I’m also the boss of the turtle yard and ATR’s mascot. I am King Tortoise in L.A. and many of you probably know me from my academy award wining romance movie, “Bunkle does the South Pacific”. My name is Bunkle and I’m a turtle-holic. I love my tortoises and today, May 23, is International World Turtle Day.

"I'm Bunkle" - image courtesy of http://www.tortoise.com/

I met the nice folks at ATR in 1990 when I was killer whale surfing off the Los Angeles coastline. We were filming the new remake of the 1975 movie thriller “Jaws”. My stunt was the opening 4-minute act. Spielberg yelled cut because that stupid mechanical shark missed his cue again. The great white was supposed to attack me but had an electrical problem. It lay motionless in the water and filming was cancelled that day. I gave Steven a piece of my mind too. “Spielberg, you’re killing me here,” I shouted. I flopped off Orca and swam to shore with my entourage of 100-year old female tortoises.

I was headed to my trailer when I spotted the ATR folks on the shoreline. I had heard about the fabulous things these guys from American Tortoise Rescue were achieving from sonar news reports. They’ve been doing great things to help our brothers and sisters in our time of need. The American Tortoise Rescue http://www.tortoise.com/ is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization is dedicated to the protection of turtles and tortoises throughout the world. Our mission is to educate those wanting to know more about these gentle and wonderful creatures. They stop our habitat destruction and end the cruel pet trade of these gentle creatures.

free online image courtesy of http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/images/

Back in the day, there was no way I was going let some trapper use my skins and fins for leather goods. Not a chance. I had bigger fish to fry than roll over and be captured. There wasn’t a lady tortoise for 1,000 miles who didn’t want a piece of my action. I was the envy of every turtle dude. Uh huh; a real lady’s man! I even had my own billboards 2,500 feet underwater on the slope of the continental shelf. Almost all of the sea creatures loved me and there was always a coral reef party in my honor. All the girls draped seaweed leis over my neck and the kisses were plentiful. Those sea chicks really loved me. The sharks and I got along great also but it’s those slimy eels that I don’t like. Those guys are snakes and they scare away my paparazzi.

Now I wasn’t one of the lost, abandoned, or special needs turtles. I was lucky. I let American Tortoise Rescue http://www.tortoise.com/ catch me so I could see Los Angeles the way I was born to see it. Movie stars, hot dogs on the beach, and all those air-breathing mammals wearing bikinis “grrrrrrrowl”! Move over Stallone and get out of way Brad Pitt. There’s a new tortoise in town and they call me Mr. B!

image courtesy of American Tortoise Rescue at http://www.tortoise.com/

When I learned that American Tortoise Rescue http://www.tortoise.com/ were rescuing and rehabilitating turtles and tortoises, I discovered my true calling in life. I was adamant about joining their cause in providing for the protection of all species of tortoises and turtles. Today, we offer permanent sanctuary to abandoned and lost tortoises though we no longer do adoptions. Special needs turtles and tortoises that cannot be placed stay in the care of American Tortoise Rescue for the remainder of their lives. My kin will no longer be made into boots and leather purses. We’re all endangered you know.

On the beach that day back in 1990, I needed to get ATR’s attention. All I did was present my Austin Powers mojo with a slow strut across the beach and I grabbed the lady worker’s attention. It was easy for me to do as their heads started shaking. Bunkle’s mojo is too much to ignore and they were all mesmerized by my slow, sensual walk. I signed the contract to become their spokesperson the same day.

Today, American Tortoise Rescue http://www.tortoise.com/ also acts as a national clearinghouse for information about the care, feeding, and rehabilitation of endangered and captive-bred tortoises. In addition, we work to abolish “live market” slaughter of turtles, the illegal sale of hatchlings and turtles that are under four inches, the cruel importation and exportation of a variety of species. We also work to protect the desert tortoise from collectors, off-road vehicles, and loss of habitat. You can read more about immediate threats in “Turtles in Danger”.

free online image courtesy of http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/images/

Ladies and gentleman of the beach; it’s time to get the word out about the American Tortoise Rescue http://www.tortoise.com/  mission. Today is May 23 and it’s International World Turtle Day. Snails; you guys get to the high ground and pass out flyers. Come on now people, let’s chop-chop your slow-poke butts up there – pronto! Sea gulls; fly in formation and trail those promotional banners overhead. Follow the coastline and no fish-diving until lunch break! Crabs; stop acting so grumpy. Put on a happy face and man the information tables and serve refreshments with a smile! I’ll be over at the VIP booth signing autographs and doing photo shoots. My name is Bunkle the turtle, so let’s spread the word about saving turtles TODAY!

Rachel Hoyt’s blog post talking about what people can do today to become more educated about this endangered species.

http://pokeyspals.blogspot.com/2011/05/top-5-ways-to-celebrate-world-turtle.html

American Tortoise Rescue http://www.tortoise.com/

NOTE: I’m Charlie Nitric. Please click on the links provided in this post to learn more about the serious nature of these endangered species – turtles and tortoises. They are members of the reptile kingdom and not amphibians. Take some time out of your busy lives to become educated about this wonderful cause. Stumble my link, Rachel’s and ATR’s links; Tweet us & send to your social media sites. Get the word out. Today is International World Turtle Day. This matter is a concern to all human beings world-wide. Thank you for reading me and your comments are always most appreciated. Enjoy your World Turtle Day! 🙂 http://www.tortoise.com/

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

NOTE: If you enjoy reading my post, please click the “LIKE” button below. “SHARE” it with your friends. Thank you for reading me. 🙂

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by savirag on May 23, 2011 - 11:38 am

    Adorable and the last picture ….. trying to find words to describe it!

    • #2 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 11:48 am

      Hello Savira –

      I love the last image as well. I thought about putting it in 2-3 times but then decided at the end was most effective. BTW, I really like your funny animated video post yesterday. The old man and the young stud student video is too funny. LOVE IT! Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  2. #3 by Rhyme Me a Smile on May 23, 2011 - 11:43 am

    Very nice post for World Turtle Day! Pokey sometimes looks up at me with cottage cheese all over her face. Its similar to that 2nd to last picture. So cute. 🙂

    • #4 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 11:54 am

      Hello Rachel –

      I hope that you like my story supporting World Turtle Day today. You turtle is called Pokey, huh? Cute! Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

      • #5 by SJ on May 23, 2011 - 2:52 pm

        I just knew I’d find you here – so happy, maybe Pokey can do a guest appearance ?

        • #6 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 5:02 pm

          Hello Sarah –

          I love bloggers. You people always inspire me for new posts. Pokey huh? Since you’ve mentioned it, I did think of something that might work out ok ;). We will see! Find whom here….me or Bunkle??? Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  3. #7 by Dawn on May 23, 2011 - 11:46 am

    Unfortunately, I couldn’t get any of the photos to appear in the post, no matter how many times I right clicked them. No idea why that happened. I enjoyed the post so much, despite that one little blip! My Mom talked with all manner of critters my whole life (she still does this) and I’ve always been quite certain the majority of them have a rich life such as the one described here. We’re just rarely privy to the details unless said critters step into the human arena and tap out a blog about it all. 🙂

    ~ Dawn

    • #8 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 11:57 am

      Hello Dawn –

      I’m so glad you enjoyed my post but I don’t why the images didn’t appear. I’ve already spoken with a few people who have reviewed this post and they haven’t mentioned any concerns other than they really like my post. You’re right. People are too busy too notice the negative consequences going on in mother nature’s animal kingdom.

      I hope you have a chance to read some of my other blogs. I believe you will like them as well ;). Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  4. #9 by pissykittyslitterbox.com on May 23, 2011 - 12:17 pm

    I had to laugh at this, because I recently had turtle on the brain. My daughter was just telling me how her and my grandkids were over visiting people, and I guess one of their children had a turtle. My two year old grandson was enamored by it. She said when they left he was crying and saying, “Bye turtle.” Well, you know that means that grandma is going to have to buy them a turtle right?
    Good post. And the last pic…well, words can’t describe. Ha..ha..

    • #10 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 12:23 pm

      Hi Kitty –

      Savira mentioned she loves the last image also. I really like it a lot, lol. You know, I never knew so many people are turtle lovers. Turtle people are every where and seems like many people have turtle’s in their homes as pets. Cool! Bye Turtle, lol. How cute! Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  5. #11 by Alpana Jaiswal on May 23, 2011 - 1:17 pm

    Loved your post and the awesome pictures,Charlie..it is really fantastic,my daughter is loving it,and says a big thank you.

    • #12 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 1:59 pm

      Hello Alpana –

      The pictures are all good, I agree. I never knew that so many people have an infinity for turtles. Who knew or maybe I’ve been living in the dark (which is most likely the situation here)! I’m happy your daughter loves my story (hello daughter of Alpana, lol). Cheers :)!!! Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  6. #13 by wisdomandlife on May 23, 2011 - 2:17 pm

    I can now say thanks to my fellow bloggers I’ve learned two things today. From you, Charlie, I’ve learned it was World Turtle Day. And BTW:
    The pics appear for me.

    From my friend Cathy at Natural home, I’ve learned what some of the labels on cleaning products mean.

    A productive day and it’s not over yet.

    Be Happy! Be Well! Be Positive!
    Blessings to you.

    Chris

    • #14 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 2:29 pm

      Hello Christopher –

      You should really thank Rachel Hoyt because I didn’t know today was World Turtle Day until I read her wonderful blog yesterday. Her post inspired my turtle speech blog you just read and commented on. Thank you so much for that. 🙂

  7. #15 by Bongo on May 23, 2011 - 3:06 pm

    Happy World Turtle Day…As always…XOXOOXO

    • #16 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 5:03 pm

      Hi Bonnie –

      Happy World Turtle Day to you also. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  8. #17 by Geezer on May 23, 2011 - 3:06 pm

    Great post, great pictures. I never knew turtles were so interesting. I used to love them when I was a youngster living on a farm. I’ve always stopped and removed any I spot on the highways to keep then from getting run over. Happy World Turtle Day!

    • #18 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 5:04 pm

      Hello Don –

      BTW, I love your ID (Geezer). I think that’s great! A lot of people have commented about the pictures in which I also like them. Seems like there a many people like your self whom adore turtles. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  9. #19 by Jessica Brant on May 23, 2011 - 3:19 pm

    BC,
    You should of had Pokie make a guest appearance on this post.. Nice article mister
    Happy World Turtle Day to you and all the Turtle in the world.. It is so cool they have their own day…
    xoxo
    Jess

    • #20 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 5:06 pm

      Hi Jessica –

      Thank you and I hope you like my story. It’s very cool that they have their own day. I think they should march down Michigan Avenue in downtown Chicago for a parade. I’d be there to cheer them on. However, it could be a very slowwwww march! Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  10. #21 by Bronzilla Sheppard on May 23, 2011 - 6:14 pm

    Great post Charlie. I never knew of Happy World Turtle Day. I had turtles when was youngen and I still love them.

    • #22 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 6:25 pm

      Hello Bronzilla –

      If you happen to read Rachel Hoyt’s post from yesterday, you will discover how I learned about World Turtle Day. I just found out 24 hours ago. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  11. #23 by Debra Elramey on May 23, 2011 - 6:53 pm

    Charlie, thank you for educating your readers about International World Turtle Day. Quite honestly I didn’t even realize they were an endangered species 😦
    Well, at least I’ve gleaned some info today. And it was written in such a humorous and amusing way!
    Warm wishes,
    ~ Debra

    • #24 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 7:21 pm

      Hello Debra –

      I actually just learned about World Turtle Day, yesterday from Rachel Hoyt’s blog. I hope you enjoy reading my story. Thanks for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  12. #25 by Jessica Mokrzycki on May 23, 2011 - 11:18 pm

    Great post! I had no idea of the significance of the day and am reading this 17 minutes too late to celebrate, as it is now 12:17 am on May 23! Darn it…maybe next year! Turtles rock 🙂 I loved the pics!

    • #26 by charlie nitric on May 23, 2011 - 11:43 pm

      Hello Jessica –

      Late as usual, huh haha. No worries. I didn’t know about World Turtle Day either until yesterday afternoon reading Rachel Hoyt’s blog. The pics are really cool, I agree. I love the animated turtle that walks hahaha. That’s the best one. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  13. #27 by kendra on May 24, 2011 - 1:11 am

    Aww! This was absolutely the most adorable thing I’ve ever read! I LOVE turtles! How cute! I will certainly spread the word about the little guys. 🙂 I like your post. You made it so interesting and cute. I will have to join the turtle cause. It makes me sooo mad that the are slaughtered. 😦 Ugh, it just turns my stomach! I joined an organization for saving cats & dogs who are slaughtered in other countries a couple of years ago. I was truly HORRIFIED when the organization sent me all the info in the mail. What they do to the poor little animals is the most disgusting thing I have ever heard of. REALLY! I couldn’t believe actual people could do these types of things just to make money off their fur, or turtle skin. 😦 You should check out the stuff on the cats & dogs too. I’m guessing you probably know the gross ways they kill them before stealing their fur. 😦 Well, I am just ecstatic to see that you care so much about animals! It seems like it’s so hard to motivate people to just do the simplest things to help save animal’s lives. I guess a lot of people think it doesn’t matter or think it’s too much work to sign a petition and stay involved to make a difference. 😦

    Turtles, fear no more! lol. I’ll be on my way to join the cause in about 3 seconds!

    -Kendra

    • #28 by charlie nitric on May 24, 2011 - 6:43 am

      Hi Kendra –

      I haven’t seen you around for a while. Hope everything is going good with you.

      I’ve heard about the torture and abuse common domestic house pets are going through, like the dogs and cats you mentioned above. There are a number of organizations today that fight that battle and support for their efforts is growing fast. There a lot of dog and cat owners around the world who do treat their pets with love and compassion. Unfortunately there are the ones who don’t.

      I didn’t know there were so many turtle lovers in the world until just a couple of days ago. If you have a chance, visit Rachel Hoyt’s blog in the link provided at the end of my story. She’s the person whom alerted me that an International World Turtle Day even exists. Who knew and now I am more informed as you are. Hopefully more of us are informed now. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  14. #29 by askcherlock on May 24, 2011 - 8:17 am

    Hi Charlie!
    I never realized how beautiful turtles can be. The photos here are awesome! Posts like this will help the driving forces to save our environment and its species. Thank you so much for the beauty and for the heart you put into this.

    • #30 by charlie nitric on May 24, 2011 - 8:34 am

      Hello Cher –

      The photos and animated image are very cool aren’t they? I’m learning there are many turtle (reptile) lovers in the world. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  15. #31 by melissa on May 28, 2011 - 4:15 am

    brian, i’m so proud of you… you’re among the first people who has aired the plea of turtles… way to go! you are indeed capable of anything… i liked that second to the last photo…hahaha… it made me laugh like crazy :P…i should really visit you more often…

    • #32 by charlie nitric on May 28, 2011 - 9:34 am

      Hi Melissa –

      Did you have a chance to read Rachel Hoyt’s blog about “5 things we can do today for World Turtle Day”? She’s where I got the idea for this blog story. Yes I agree. You should visit me here much more often ;). Laughing, smiling, grinning….is all good you know. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  16. #33 by tattoodevil13 on July 28, 2011 - 10:11 pm

    Nice way to educate ppl. Now if that hadn’t been amusing I never would had read it. The Turtle rescue guys owe u big time for educating lazy ass ppl like me. Who never would have read a seriously boring article on turtles. You can consider me reeducated & as it’s 4am that’s pretty impressive 4 me. The real test will be if I can recall the info come morning. Great article as ever, time to return to sleepy dreams xx

    • #34 by charlie nitric on July 29, 2011 - 1:00 pm

      Hi Quinn –

      I wrote the story to help a female blogging friend whom is a big fan of animals and a turtle lover. She seemed to like the story a lot so that’s good. Hope you fell back to sleep soundly ;). 🙂

Leave a Reply

