S.O.S. Blogger in Crisis Mode!


2nd raised vegetable garden box at my sister's home

As much as I enjoy writing, my goal is to be published. I have no clue if I have what it takes inside of me to accomplish my dream but I’m trying. I’m also not having the best of times being a blogger. There is far too much I don’t understand. Some of my lack of understanding will eventually soak in but a larger percentage of it will not. I’m horrible with computers and technology. All I can really do adequately with the machine is type words, make them into sentences, and by stringing many sentences together I’m able to produce paragraphs. By duplicating this effort, I manage to twine together a story (a post). Adequate is an interesting word here. Is being adequate good enough, in my view or in your view, for becoming a published writer/author?

During my 6-weeks here in “Blogville,” I’ve visited hundreds of sites. Many of you have so much going on in your sites, my mind starts to overload. I have no idea what all this stuff is and no clue on where to find it. And I certainly don’t understand how to use it. I’m an excellent problem-solver in business, sports, relationships, and in most aspects of life. But to state this directly so there is no misunderstanding; I’m most certainly the village idiot with all this technology crap. What the heck is it, why do you have it, where do I find it, why do I need it, how do I incorporate it, and what results can I expect from having it?

By me using the term “it,” I’m referring to things like putting a Stumble button on my blog pages. How? Where does a person find this? I’ve looked and searched through the Stumble site and in WordPress on how to do this. I’ve gone to forums and tried learning how by clicking question and answer links. Nada! I see blogs with Facebook and Twitter share buttons. You have other colorful little logos called Digg, Buzz, and Reddit. I’m lost with it all. I read words that say, “Grab My Button” and wonder why should I grab this…what ever it is? Everyone is talking about gadgets, widgets, gidgets, and midget’s; what the “chuck-fluck” is it all? If I need this, how do I get those and how do I put those on my blog posts?

That being said, what’s very easy for most of you to perform is very confusing and difficult for me. I don’t like technology and I’m not impressed by it. Technology doesn’t enamor me and I’m not dazzled by all the unnecessary things people can do with it. But if there is something I need that will help me achieve my goal of becoming read, recognized, and published someday, I would like to know. I understand this stuff is not rocket science but I just don’t “get it.” You have to comprehend something here. From 2002-2010, I tried dozens of times to figure out how to change my email ID. What takes you 8-seconds took me 8-years! Finally I found it and I found out how by pure accident. Do you know how much wasted time is spent on my end trying to figure out all this crap? It’s too many hours to add.

both garden boxes side by side

I’m guessing that most of you would have issues hanging upside down by your legs wrapped around a 32nd floor balcony railing from a high-rise condominium in downtown Chicago. Maybe you fear heights or maybe you’re afraid you may get dizzy. Possibly you might be afraid you may fall and die. For me, I wanted to know if I could do it without fainting or getting dizzy. It’s an easy play for me in which is probably most difficult for you. I understand that. I never said it was smart or wise to do. It’s seriously not!

For you, it’s most likely you wouldn’t feel comfortable doing hand stands atop of a speeding vehicle rolling down the highway at 50 mph. I’m guessing this is difficult for you. It’s not a question for me in my mind and in the eyes of the 6-8 friends whom rolled with me back during the 30 times its been done. Perhaps you would feel uncomfortable playing Tarzan and jumping off a 2nd floor rooftop into a willow tree. Swinging from the long willow vines down to the ground may not be your cup of tea. You need to grasp the vines securely in the first place to cease the force of gravity pulling 180 pounds quickly to the earth. You probably wouldn’t like how the ground feels when your body slams the wind out of your lungs from the thumping to your back when the vines snap clean from the tree. Certainly you would not get up after the air inflated back into your lungs, and to do it again. For me, knowing that I didn’t grab a hold of the quantity of vines necessary to support free-falling weight successfully, assured me I had the proper recon to call it “game!” on the 2nd attempt. These things were easy for me to do but probably most difficult for many of you. These experiences may bog you down in thought and action. You may not want to do it either. For me, they occurred naturally without fear or without hesitation.

There is much more going on that is creating tremendous havoc with my blogging experience. These are technical in nature as well but will I prefer not to comment much on that ugly business at this time. All I will say about it is this: I know who you are and wish you would stop messing around with my technology. You’re not just affecting me you’re affecting the future of my children as well. I didn’t create any of the past miseries in your life so please stop jacking up my shit!

The events I mentioned above were more than 2 decades ago. I am a boring father today, an excellent human being, very settled and quiet by today’s nature. I am also an aspiring writer with experiences to talk about and believe there is a target audience who would like to hear about them. I also believe there are many people who enjoy laughing during a read. I’ve been attempting to fill both of those shoes to date.

Today, I am a bogged-down and technologically deprived fool. I DON’T GET IT! Some of you are thinking, “How can he not understand it?” I just don’t! Let’s put it this way. As someone told me recently, I must be an ADD dumb-founded boob or what ever it is. As simple and without thought all those buttons and widgets and gadgets are for y’all; these elements of being a more successful writer and blogger do not come naturally for me. RSS feed; “wtfructose” is that? I am so frustrated with wasting time trying to figure out how and why and where and for what reasons; I’m not writing about 1,000 real life experiences that most people would never dream of. Most people are not programmed for these types of adventures. I do get that one. Some are hilarious, some are scary, some are amazing, some are romantic, some are dangerous, and some are just crazy-wild! Some are not in within your wildest imaginations!

I can turn a simple visit to the supermarket into an event you will never forget; a situation where you will burst out in to total and uncontrollable laughter months and years later when you recalled the situation. With company or flying solo, images and words and scenes flash through my mind at lightning speed. What doesn’t shine in my mind at all is technology. Not one bit. The bottom line is this: SOS – HELP WANTED!

the insect army's home base; so close to enemy lines!

P.S. I was fortunate enough to have a fabulous conversation yesterday with a fellow blogger. This time, the person actually talked to me. Our conversation carried its course for a long period of time. This conversation could never have come about if that person didn’t read my blog words, my comments on other blogs, and my comments in various rooms. It wasn’t the common chat with me typing 50 words and receiving “lol” or “oic” in response. This person responded thoughtfully, intelligently, and combined wit and humor intertwined in the mix. This person also dedicated their time to our conversation. I didn’t wait 10 minutes for the common “lol” response. This person made our chat important in the moment and I’m grateful for that conversation. Very much so and I hope there will be more to come in the near future. In fact, my blog post above is the result of our conversation. Now before anyone gets their girdles or jock straps all in frenzy, some of us have also had nice volleys in chat. You know who you are so relax – put the rotten tomatoes down and chill! 🙂

P.S.S. The photos included in this post are from last evening construct of my sister’s 2nd raised vegetable garden. The insect base is in the surrounding brush. They were advised to leave me alone last night. I’m so glad they listened to me. 😛

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

NOTE: If you enjoy reading my post, please click the “LIKE” button below. “SHARE” it with your friends. Thank you for reading me. 🙂

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jim Brandano on May 31, 2011 - 2:25 pm

    Hi Charlie, Blogger has gadgets that you can add right from blogger, In my limited time with WO ( 2 days) I really didn’t get that far. Blogger had a gadget that easily put a social networking things lol on my blog( you can see it on the top left)
    I would google social sharing for wordpress. Actually I just did and I found the site for you to find it.. WordPress lol under plugIns.
    Good luck
    http://jpweddingphotograpy.blogspot.com/2011/05/collaboration-with-poetess-sweepy-jean.html

    • #2 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 3:13 pm

      Hi Jim –

      Thank you for the recommendations. If the WordPress site under plugins is any of the previous ones I’ve already viewed, if there is a step-by-step demonstration taking me from start to finish, they were not helpful. I’ll go back and try it all again later today. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  2. #3 by Linda Della Donna on May 31, 2011 - 2:27 pm

    Great post, Charlie Nitric. Echoes my deepest sentiments. Nice to know I’m not alone in the world of technology. I also love your garden.

    Linda Della Donna
    http://www.griefcase.net

    • #4 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 4:42 pm

      Hi Linda –

      Nice to know that I’m not the only person who doesn’t understand much when it comes to technology. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  3. #5 by Anna on May 31, 2011 - 2:33 pm

    You may not understand it all but you make it work and I think you do an awesome job of it. And I’m sure you are familiar with an old but familiar concept – practice makes perfect – though none of us are ever perfect, practice does indeed make a difference, and never, ever be afraid to ask a question.

    • #6 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 3:10 pm

      Hi Anna –

      Is just making it work adequately, enough? Are there things I could be doing that will increase my opportunity to be read by buyers of stories? Yes I am very familiar with practice makes perfect. Sometimes though, people top out. They just don’t get it, you know. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  4. #7 by InJensMind on May 31, 2011 - 2:39 pm

    I feel your pain I really do. Everything I have learned to do online I have taught myself. I didn’t have access to computers until about 4 years ago. I am proud of everything I have accomplished in that short time, infact people who have been using them way longer than I come to me for help. All of those things you speak of widgets, gadgets and such make a blog easier for the reader to share with other’s. It is not a necessity to be a great writer.
    I think the problem is the confusion people have between “blogging” and “writing.” I am a writer, I blog because I am not published or work a job as a writer. It seems to me you are the same. Blogging is helpful like a resume, to show off your talent in the hopes enough people will read it, share it and eventually someone from a publishing company will contact you. This is my belief and how I run my blog. Blogging was first introduced as an online diary to share with other people, it wasn’t marketed for writer’s to write. Now everyone has a blog and are attempting to be writer, some succeed some fall short. True writer’s work speaks for itself without the need for all the gadgetry. All of those things like I said are purely for your readers to share or for you to share in hopes you get noticed. I hope I have helped in resting your mind a bit. ~Jenni De La Torre

    • #8 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 3:07 pm

      Hey Jennifer –

      I do a lot on my own in life but with the computer, I just don’t learn fast at all. It will get a little better but that’s at a one-legged snail’s pace. Too slow! What I am asking is if there are things I could use on my blogs that will help my readership increase, which in turn will increase the odds of that decision-makers in publishing are among those new readers, I would greatly appreciate some help with that. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

      • #9 by InJensMind on May 31, 2011 - 3:24 pm

        I have only been blogging for a year. I have less than 30 followers, my fanpage on FB has about 30, I have 325 friends on FB and over 800 on twitter, so honestly I cannot tell you how to get more readers. I know for a fact less than a 1/3 click on my links let alone follow, read or comment. I too need to find out how to get more readers. All I can say is keep sharing your blog and use other medians like Linkedin and maybe Odesk. Maybe if you self publish a book that might help. Nothing great happens overnight and because we are in a technological age there is much more competition out there then there use to be. I wish you luck and hopefully we will both figure out how to get more readers.

        • #10 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 3:49 pm

          Hey Jenni –

          Well you seem like a seasoned veteran at it that’s for sure. Do you use any of those buttons, widgets, and gadgets I mentioned in my post? People have told me to get them and that they’re supposed increase readership. I’ve never heard of Odesk but I do have a Linkedin from a few years back. I only went there one time, I believe. I get all lost with all the logins and on what to do with all these things once I get them. I also have the one thing (forget the name now) where you can talk over the internet. I used that one time and never used it again. It confused why I needed it since you can speak right from messengers. Again, I don’t get much at all. Thank you for reading me and for commenting again. 🙂

          • #11 by InJensMind on May 31, 2011 - 7:25 pm

            Sorry to respond so late but, I got rather busy. Yes I do use them on 2 of my blogs. http://rapsandpoemsandbooksohmy.blogspot.com/
            http://jenni-the-rambler.blogspot.com/
            I use them to spread word about my blogs mostly and because I am OCD about the appearance of my blog. Some have helped me get more readers and so did the groups we are in. Another big thing is tags, the right word in your post will bring you traffic from searches. The grab my button thing is for promotion of another’s blog. When I come across a blog I enjoy reading immensely I post their link on my blog to help them get some of my traffic and readers. I am fairly new in the blogging world so I thank you for calling me a well- seasoned veteran, that means that although I am new, I adapt to my surroundings well. The buttons such as StumbleUpon and the others you mentioned are for people to share your blog. It opens up the possibility for you to get new readers from them. It can be very time consuming to do all these things but, in the end it can assist you with getting noticed. When it comes to your writing, you have to be your own promoter, who else is going to do it for you…. hopefully at some point you get enough people promoting your writing that you can focus on writing while other’s are bringing you readers. In the blogging world though, the key is to cross-promote. You scratch my back I scratch yours kind of deal. If you ever need help with anything send me a message or email and I will definitely help to the best of my ability.

            • #12 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 8:08 pm

              Hey Jenny –

              I haven’t focused much at all on using the right tags in my posts. I kind of just let my fingers run away with typing stories and that thought is far from my mind. It’s a good suggestion though since I don’t receive much Google traffic at all. In fact, some days there are none. Here’s my question about all those shares, ect. If readers are not clicking LIKE or clicking to VOTE on the quality of a post, why in the world would they ever bother to share a post? I have a story which in my view, is the best one I’ve written. It’s called “A Mother Whispers Goodnight.” I have a ton of wonderful comments which I appreciate soo soo much. But still, nobody liked the story enough to even LIKE it on the page. In fact, I just had the first person who has read the story even shared it with their friends. This mother of 5 kids is no blogger and just a Facebook friend I’ve never met before. She liked it and mailed me that she thinks any mother needs to read my story. That is awesome of her and so nice to hear. But still, will those buttons help me when probably most people don’t use them? Thank you for your thoughtful comments above. I appreciate them a lot. 🙂

              • #13 by InJensMind on May 31, 2011 - 8:34 pm

                It’s like this… You will get many more page views than you will get comments. You will get more comments than you will get likes or shares. Some people just don’t take the time or maybe some are like me, if it’s explicit content or a story about abuse I won’t like it. Not because I don’t like it but, because I have minors and sensitive people on my Facebook page. I try and find other means to share it or just leave a comment on it. I figure it this way, I want to have the button there for when someone wants to use it then not to because hardly anyone is using it. Honestly, I can’t speak on why people do or don’t do what they do. You have the basic share and like buttons on here so as far as that you are doing well. Try the tags they do help.

                • #14 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 9:11 pm

                  Hey Jenni –

                  Sure, that makes sense when you’re talking about “R” and “X” rated content. I have children on FB and many friends in my list who have kids as well. My stories are all “G” through “PG-13” works at best. I can release the beastly content, lol, but I just don’t. I keep my words at a level for almost all people to read. The more simple the wording and absent of extensive swearing, is better for a broader reach. Swearing and adult matter, greatly reduce the target audience.

  5. #15 by Rhyme Me a Smile on May 31, 2011 - 2:40 pm

    Wowzers Charlie! Take a deep breath and try to be patient. It takes time to learn all that stuff as you say. It took me QUITE a while to even figure out how to put a proper html link in my posts and you’ve already got that down. Gold star! 🙂 Blogging is tough for many reasons, I think… many of which you named above. You know I’m here to help when I can. And, I hate to even say this because you’ve probably already heard it, but… you really do have to be writing for yourself and trying not to worry about how many readers you get in order to truly enjoy blogging sometimes. Some of my favorite posts have had very few views. Some of my least favorites got all the attention. I’m pretty happy either way because I’m just practicing my writing style for a future book.

    • #16 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 2:52 pm

      Hi Rachel –

      Haha @ Wowzers Charlie! Gosh Rachel, it wasn’t an angry post. Maybe a frustrated post, ok. The writing aspect of blogging is very simple. I don’t have to think much about that at all and it rolls out naturally. I do struggle with writing about real-life events that are intense though. I’ve attempted doing that on many occasions recently and it doesn’t read well to me. It just sounds like I am reporting which bores me. I want to keep my blog simple, most definitely. I do want the focus to be on my writing and not have it loaded up with a billion things that distract one’s eye. BUT, if there’s something I need that will help bring readers, I would love to hear about how to do it. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

      • #17 by Rhyme Me a Smile on June 1, 2011 - 10:32 am

        I was definitely sensing your frustration. 🙂 And… I do believe in widgets (obviously… you’ve seen my site), but I don’t know wordpress. As someone above me already said, a lot of it comes automatic with blogger, so I didn’t have to do much. I know you can figure it out though… if you can find the patience and time. 🙂

        • #18 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 10:59 am

          Hi Rachel –

          Stuart jumped in mid evening last night and advised me on exactly what I needed to do. As I suspected and as others knew, it’s is so simple to do. All I needed was to be guided there. Stuart did that for me and I am grateful to him for that. Patience….I have plenty of patience. Why didn’t you post your reply comment last evening. I’ve been sitting here pacing the house waiting and waiting….and waiting…hahahahaha ;). Thank you for replying back. 🙂

  6. #19 by Larry Lewis on May 31, 2011 - 2:52 pm

    You are an awesome writer, and i have no doubts not only will you get published, but your book will sell to. You make me laugh on a daily basis and i wouldn’t miss a single one of your posts. Less than a year ago i was a blogging virgin, totally clueless getting more and more frustrated by all things blogging. I’ve come a long way. I’ve read many many articles and in a certain group, namely Blogplicity, found people who would always help out, show me the way and handle my stupidity with patience. Those very people will be there for you, never be embarrased to ask.

    • #20 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 3:03 pm

      Hello Larry –

      Thank you for your words of support and encouragement. I hate this blogging virgin syndrome stuff. Not good at all, lol. Hopefully things will get easier for me soon. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  7. #21 by Jessica Mokrzycki on May 31, 2011 - 3:28 pm

    You might be having difficulty getting the hang of things, butI love your writing, you keep pretty steady posts flowing and you visit other blogs, which is a plus to help you with traffic on your own. You seem like you are a natural! Keep up keeping on…I know myself and many have made your blog a regular stopping place. I think when it comes to being published persistance and drive has a lot to do with it, and you seem to have both. Also, connections. And the more you circulate yourself online, visiting other sites, etc, the more networking you’ll do which will increase your chances.
    ~peace 🙂

    • #22 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 3:44 pm

      Hello Jessica –

      Connections I do not have and I agree. They do help out. I appreciate and love all of you who visit me regularly and the occasional people as well. You’re all great, fabulous, and wonderful bloggers to read and comment on. Jessica, if I my readers are not inclined to even click “LIKE” or “VOTE” on my blogs, I’m not so sure how much of a enjoyable natural writer I am. I’ll get plugging away at it. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  8. #23 by Roy Durham on May 31, 2011 - 3:28 pm

    well Charlie , you and i have the same goals. that is to become a publish author. the widget are fun toys , but the most important thing with any blog is writing consistence good content. and you do i well. in the story field of dreams ” build it they will come” in blogging write it they will come. commenting of fb and on blogs will bring more read and follower than any gadget or widget. i have had the same problem finding my way threw all the whiz bang techno verbiage. but after six month and A++ degree i still don’t know a thing. so keep writing and commenting and write your book then we can get published thank you and god bless

    • #24 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 3:37 pm

      Hey Cowboy –

      People have all these things for reasons and most certainly those reasons are primarily for gaining readers. I believe that is a fairly safe assessment. I visit an exceptionally talented blogstress on WordPress that is maybe clicked on 20-25 times per day. This woman is truly just about as good as it gets in terms of talent writing. She’s commented a few times on my posts. That being said, although having talent is always a great thing to possess, it’s not enough. I wish I will learn a lot more technology but it’s most likely I won’t improve much. I try but….lol. Game!

      Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  9. #25 by Jessica Brant on May 31, 2011 - 4:19 pm

    CB,
    I offered you my help take it or leave it but for Gods sakes let it go or figure it out… You not dafted you can read, you intelligent it really isn’t that hard. When you want help I am here.
    End of story
    xoxo
    Jess

    • #26 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 4:38 pm

      Hi Jessica –

      I’ve asked you 4 times how to do this stuff, lol. Your responses are either no response and you’re gone for a few days; or you ask me for my password and you will do it for me. I don’t want to give my password out to anyone. Should I have to? I just asked everyone who has read my post, including your self, on how to do it. Where to find it…and all of that. Is my post unclear? Has the 4 previous times I’ve asked you and my words in my post, ambiguous in any way? Meaning, no one sees that I asked for help on that post or what? Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  10. #27 by Penny on May 31, 2011 - 5:20 pm

    Your words echoes my deepest sentiments. Nice to know I’m not alone in the world of learning all this technology stuff!! 🙂 I can tell you, I know more then I did a few years ago-! It takes time to learn all the ends and outs of setting up your blog and adding new features-although I have had the best of writers to tell me-the less you have on your blog the better-keep it neat ! and to keep writing, the more you write the better you get! – Personally I am writing out of the desire to write my about my thoughts-I have always enjoying doing this-never dreaming one day I would be doing it publicly !! I was told by an author-just keep writing !! Enjoy !! and it will all come to you one day. 🙂

    • #28 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 7:02 pm

      Hello Penny –

      Glad to hear I’m not the only technical handicap out here. I totally agree that less is better but if there are some things that aren’t loud and obnoxious, and will help expand readership, I would like to know how to do it. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  11. #29 by Deborah the Closet Monster on May 31, 2011 - 6:43 pm

    As always, reading your blog is a treat! I daresay you’re getting an A+ at blogging, since an A+ is typically 98% or above and the points you describe yourself as missing are fairly minor by comparison. (As always, that’s obviously IMO. I couldn’t well speak IYO or IHO, after all. Ahem.)

    I was preparing to click the “Like” button when I read your request that your readers click the same (or share the entry). My first thought was, I can’t click it now! My next thought was that I’m no longer 20, which was my age when my brother-in-law first demonstrated to me how the quickest way to get me to do something was to tell me not to, and vice versa. Obviously a little bit still lingers, but thanks to his guidance, it no longer controls! 😀

    • #30 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 6:50 pm

      Hey Deborah –

      At first, I thought you said “Amen” at the end of the BYOB HMO stuff hahaha ;). Yee Haw Deborah! Hey, I used to get my little sister in to the dyer and lots of other precarious situations that worked in my benefit the same way your brother did to you. I understand that philosophy very well, lol. Hey again, I never said you had to click the LIKE button. I asked politely by saying “please click if you enjoy my post”. It’s all you Deb, righttttttt? 😛

      I’ll take an “A+” from an awesome and published author like your self. I’ll also take some cookies and cupcakes the next time you come to harass me. Don’t you realize I’m a starving bachelor here? Come on now. Please get with the program haha ;). Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  12. #31 by Alejandro on May 31, 2011 - 8:16 pm

    It took me a while to learn about all the SEO’ing and eventually had it down pat on Blogger. Now on WP have to start all again aargh. As my memory is pretty much a mess as it is, trying to redo what I did a year ago is a pain in my posterior. One thing with WP is just to plug it in and press activate then go to settings of the plugin to tweak what you want or how to make it look.

    try this mate if you need to or not.. SexyBookmarks (by Shareaholic)

    Cheers A

    • #32 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 9:00 pm

      Hey Alejandro –

      I just read your comments and went to the plug-ins for the 60th time. I don’t see any Stumble, Buzzit, Reddit, or the others that everybody is using. You’re supposed to drag these things and put them into widget areas; primary, secondary, and so on up to like 5 widgets I think. I’m not sure what is meant by plugging a logo in that I don’t see any where. LOL, first I need to find it. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  13. #33 by bornstoryteller on May 31, 2011 - 9:45 pm

    Hi Charlie:
    Unless I’m “reading” what you want wrong:
    go to your Dashboard
    Scroll down to Settings
    Click on Sharing
    On the page, a lot of “sharing” tools:
    First, click on the Publicize area: FB, Twit, Yahoo, MSG..I am only on FB & Twit
    Under that are Share Buttons
    Drag the ones you want to connect to from the buttons to the space below it (Enable)
    Live preview: you can use or not. Not a biggie.
    go to the bottom and hit SAVE CHANGES

    The sharing tools should appear on your pages. Let me know if that works for you or not.

    • #34 by charlie nitric on May 31, 2011 - 11:15 pm

      Hello Stuart –

      No sir. You read it accurately. I would say you nailed it my man – POP that bull-eyes baby!!! Thank you, Thank you, THANK YOU very much. I greatly appreciate your comments assisting me with this amazingly simple procedure. You told me exactly where to go and what to do. It took me about 10 seconds to get there, if that. The big decision of the night was if I wanted or needed the other ones like Digg, Reddit, and the other one “Buzz Light Year” thingy haha. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

      • #35 by bornstoryteller on June 1, 2011 - 6:30 am

        You are welcome. Glad to be of service. Shall you want your brandy and slippers now, sirrah, or after you have bathed with the ladies? 😉

        Let me know how those other sites are. I’m getting social networked out.

        OH..are you on Goodreads? It’s not a posting platform, but…interesting, since I love books.

        • #36 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 10:34 am

          Hey Stuart –

          I’ll let you know as soon as I get there. It may take me a week or a few months hahaha. But I’ll get there. Thank you. 🙂

  14. #38 by sancheeta biswas on June 1, 2011 - 5:01 am

    some things of you match with mine. even i am into this blogging world with a very limited knowledge about the technicalities supporting a blog page. i thought it was about reading, writing and sharing the passions. but now i know it is a vast ocean to explore in which ever way you want. technology still does not attract me. i am happy to read blogs painting my mind with different shades of life.

    your writings are flawless, it has its own style, refreshing the mind with a pinch of humor. after all it has to be the contents which provokes a comeback for readers. but i also agree that technology is its ornament which makes it dazzling, attractive and selective.

    • #39 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 10:28 am

      Hello Sancheeta –

      Thank you for your kind words about my writing :).

      When I am good at something, I’m fairly good at it. When I am bad at something, I’m fairly bad at it haha. Technology is one of those bad things and there isn’t much about it that attracts me. I’m not impressed by all the pretty colors on my cell phone and sitting at a computer performing management functions or to play bad games with people isn’t my style. There’s no gratification in any of it for me. I don’t find much satisfaction with social media since very few really have anything concrete to say. A lot of technology simply bores the heck out of me, lol. I appreciate all of you who really read my work and respond to what you read. I do adore and appreciate all of you for that. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  15. #40 by Alpana Jaiswal on June 1, 2011 - 6:15 am

    What if I tell you that I am like you,a year back,I didn’t know as to how I should switch on the computer..my 12 years old daughter created my Face book account,and every time I wanted to check,had to request her. One day,got to it myself,and through trial and error,started off.When I started blogging,a friend of mine used to post for me. Very slowly,I gained confidence..and believe me,I still don’t use several gadgets..just not interested.I was in no group,was happy writing,and learning..so I feel do what you feel you are comfortable about..keep writing,for me it releases stress..and I love what you write…

    • #41 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 10:33 am

      Hi Alpana –

      You’re doing fantastic, trust me. Your purpose for blogging and being within social media groups is different than my reasons. Of course, it’s great when you go through the numbers and can find someone who can actually type communicative words that say something. Thanks to Stuart, he donated a few minutes of his time in chat with me and in comments. I was easily able to get a few of the buttons I’ve wanted on my page in a matter of seconds. He told me to click twice and it was done. I’m learning also but not at a fast rate. And it won’t get much faster than where it’s at now hahaha. It is what it is, I guess. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

      • #42 by bornstoryteller on June 1, 2011 - 11:29 am

        Danke. Look how many hits and comments you get that DON’T answer your question, but the love is pouring out. You just need to market yourself!!

        Hey Girls: I have the 2012 Nude Charlie and A calendar for sale!! Get ’em while it’s hot!! 😉

        • #43 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 11:41 am

          Hey Stuart –

          Yes you are right. I’m heading to the European now to buy me one of those Italian male thongs. Maybe I’ll go downtown today and catch some sun rays sporting the colorful garment hahaha. OMG I would rather jump out of an airplane than do that. Grosssssssss! 🙂

  16. #44 by Mary Hudak-Collins on June 1, 2011 - 6:48 am

    OMG Charlie Boy!!! Cheer up ol’ friend…I never thought I would find a ‘technology soul mate’ in as bad as shape as I am when it comes to computers! No disrespect, but I am overjoyed at this new knowledge 😀
    In all seriousness though, I started my blog a year ago in March, but didn’t really start writing much until last Nov. I knew absolutely nothing about gadgets, widgets, html, etc. etc. If it hadn’t been for A, SJ, and BB my blog would basically be blank! Now, I have to admit that I have been at another blog and seen something that I liked and wanted on my blog. What did I do? Just clicked on it. Yes, my man…it usually (and I am saying usually) will take you to the site that it was obtained from.
    You have a very unique and interesting writing style and I would hate to see you give up blogging. I enjoy not only your post, but your replies to reader’s comments. All of this takes time, which is obvious you invest. You are doing a great job!!
    PS. If you are having trouble with something, keep asking in your network groups until someone answers or google your question 🙂

    • #45 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 10:44 am

      Hi Mary –

      Hahaha. I’m happy Mary. I’m not a fan of technology but I’m cheerful 😀 (see). Why would you think I would give up blogging? I wouldn’t do that, silly. I enjoy writing and making people laugh. Plus I haven’t touched any of the real writing yet. Most of what you read are just scribbles of play that are heavily laced with realism from my experiences. Blogville will get very interesting in the future ;). Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  17. #46 by Rimly on June 1, 2011 - 9:47 am

    Hey Charlie you are not alone in this. I am not that technology savvy either. I started blogging only in February and I was clueless but learnt bit by bit through friends. I cant say I have the greatest blog but I guess finally it is the content and your posts are great. So dont worry too much about “grab my button” and the rest. You have a great following and I am sure soon your work will be published.

    http://rimlybezbaruah.blogspot.com/2011/05/myra-our-guest.html

    • #47 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 10:47 am

      Hey Rimly –

      Wow. You’re only 4-6 weeks newer than me ^5. That makes me feel better already :). You have a fabulous blog and don’t let anyone prevent you from being fabulous. Thank you for your supportive and complimentary words and for reading me. 🙂

  18. #48 by Corinne Rodrigues on June 1, 2011 - 9:50 am

    Charlie – I attempt to learn too and then give up…Just yesterday I was informed that my SEO is only at 16% what ever that means. I have decided to focus on
    1. Writing
    2. Reading other blogs and making meaningful comments
    3. Participating meaningfully at other forums

    And then que sera sera…….

    You my friend, are one fantastic writer and if you just keep posting you’re going to get a lot of readers by word of mouth alone and soon – you won’t have to stumble, etc… your readers will do it for you. It’s happening even as we speak, Charlie 🙂

    PS: I’d love to read about the adventurous life you led before you became an old bore 😉

    • #49 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 10:54 am

      Hello Corinne –

      I have a bunch of real life stories that are started but don’t feel right at this time. My words aren’t reading well and sound to me like reporting. And my least favorite form of reading a writer, is a reporter’s piece of work. Too boring and without a real flow of personality. I’ll get it down to where I need it to be and finish each one as it comes to me. Timing is everything; in marketing, relationships, blogging, and in life. It will come out when it’s the right time. As far as adventures; I promise you with all my heart and soul, you will not be disappointed in that respect. Whether or not those adventures are written in a way that affords you a great read, remains to be seen. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

      • #50 by Corinne Rodrigues on June 2, 2011 - 10:38 pm

        Looking forward to that Charlie – I can never imagine you writing boring stuff…..You’ve got such a brilliant flow!

        • #51 by charlie nitric on June 3, 2011 - 3:24 am

          You’re always great Corinne and love reading your comments here. 🙂

  19. #52 by pissykittyslitterbox.com on June 1, 2011 - 11:25 am

    If it means anything it took me forever when I first started blogging to understand how to attach tags. TAGS for goodness sake! Still ain’t sure if I got that down, but the hits keep adding up so I must’ve done something right.
    Well, thanks for making me feel a bit better. I think you’re pretty smart, so if you can’t get it that means I’m not a complete idiot after all.
    Don’t worry so much about the writing thing. You’re brilliantly clever with your words and you know it. You’re just fishing, huh? 😉

    • #53 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 11:39 am

      Hey Kitty –

      You’re doing a lot right and don’t forget that. I really like reading you joke around about real situations in your life. I like how you laugh at your self and also enjoy reading you lightly bash your hubby and turn around to say how much you love him. Yup, you’re doing it right in my view ;). Lady, I’ve been fishing all my life but those critters keep stealing my bait haha. If you want to see brilliantly clever, you should see me whipping up a homemade meal out of scraps in the kitchen. It’s a feast dreams are made of hahahaha :P. Thank you for your support and kind words. 🙂

  20. #54 by Pamanner on June 1, 2011 - 2:38 pm

    Ohhh, I wish I could help more. . .really I do. But if you happened to read about my tech ineptness, you would understand. There are certain things I have “stumbled” upon such as tweeting and digging. HowEVER, I am ignorant about much of it and frantic calls to my brother or best friend are made when I ‘m in a jam. So, happy learning and try not to get toooo fusstrated! By the way, I still want raised veggie garden beds. . . 😉

    • #55 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 4:11 pm

      Hi Pam –

      I’ll go read that blog soon, promise ;). Is it titled “Tech Ineptness” or should I bring my metal detector with me to locate it, lol? I understand that ineptness you mention. I live it daily hahaha. My mirror loves to remind me of it also. Sorry to inform you that I am out of the generous raised vegetable garden box business. I’m upgrading to hot tub installation and maintenance. How’s Thursday? Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  21. #56 by sukanyabora on June 1, 2011 - 2:45 pm

    Charlie: i dont call myself a tech savvy person but i get by knowing the basics and have managed without feeling burdened by its complexities. don’t let the ever changing technology hamper your writing….it is just a tool, one that can enhance the ‘look’ of your post but not your style, your flair. and from everybody else you commented, looks like you aren’t the only tyro. so cheers!

    • #57 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 3:38 pm

      Hi Sukany –

      Cheers to tyro’s Sukany. What are they again, lol?! I’m ok everybody. No worries here at all and I’ll get the hang of things eventually. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  22. #58 by melissa on June 1, 2011 - 5:08 pm

    i’m very happy not because you don’t know many things about technology… but because you have found your way to what you really want right now… and i’m happy you do other things that make you grow…

    sorry, i couldn’t be of much help when it comes to the questions you ask, maybe i’m not so interested in those… but for you with a child’s heart who is very open to learning… i encourage you…

    keep putting your heart out there… you touch my life and so many others in so many ways with what you write… 🙂

    • #59 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 9:45 pm

      Hi Melissa –

      I also find technology uninteresting but we need some of it. I’ll keep writing and never considering not. Thank you for reading me and for your kind words. 🙂

  23. #60 by Sweepy Jean on June 1, 2011 - 9:23 pm

    Umm, so I guess we all have our talents, and you have definitely done some things I wouldn’t do even if I could! As for blogging knowledge, take it one step at a time. WordPress is pretty good with documentation and if you can’t find it there, do what I do: Google it! :p But still have a lot to learn. I really do need somebody to give me Stumbling lessons…

    • #61 by charlie nitric on June 1, 2011 - 9:37 pm

      Hi Sweepy –

      I’ve done what things that you wouldn’t do even if you could??? I wish Google and I got along better, and WordPress search as well. We seem to be going different directions as I rarely find what I need to find. Such is life. Thank you for reading me and for commenting. 🙂

  24. #62 by askcherlock on June 2, 2011 - 4:34 am

    Charlie, please don’t feel bad about the tech stuff. It took me a long time and a grrreat mentor to learn the ropes, and I am still learning. Thankfully, there are wonderful people out there (one in particular) who are willing to help us traverse this highway. You do fabulous posts, have a wonderful following and I have no doubt that in a few months, you will be singing Hallelujah while you blog!

    • #63 by charlie nitric on June 2, 2011 - 8:46 am

      Hi Cher –

      I appreciate your considerate words of advice and support. There really are some truly wonderful people around who blog for all the right reasons. Growth is good and I am very fortunate to have so many sweet people that read me and comment great words of support and encouragement, like your self and others above you here. Thank you. 🙂

  25. #64 by Jessica S on June 3, 2011 - 10:47 pm

    You have more than enough talent to become recognized and published. Based on the amount of comments you get, I think you are much more recognized than you give yourself credit for. As far as the technology stuff, if you wouldn’t have said anything, we wouldn’t have known. You seem to have a very distinct grip on all of it. As far as the Stumble Upon button, well… umm… it looks like you already have that at the end of this post. He-he. What am I miss here?

    Do you have a copy of Writer’s Market? (see ) If you don’t have one, get one.

    With your writing skill and willingness to commit to the craft, you are certain to be published if you just find the right path.

    • #65 by charlie nitric on June 4, 2011 - 5:26 pm

      Hello Jessica –

      A writer friend of mine was able to help me attach the buttons to my blog. Once he told me 2 easy clicks, it’s about a 10-second deal to get in the right place. Finding things is a large part of the battle for me. What I need to have to increase readership as far as technology is concerned, I don’t know much of that either. But hey, I have colorful buttons now so that’s a good thing, eh haha! No. I don’t have a copy of Writer’s Market. Never heard of it. Thank you for reading me and for your nice comments. 🙂

  26. #66 by Jessica S on June 3, 2011 - 10:48 pm

    E-mail me if you have a problem with the some of the blogging technology stuff (where to get it, do you need it, and so on). I’ll watch for your e-mail and get back to you as soon as I can. 🙂

  27. #68 by Patricia on December 5, 2011 - 6:39 pm

    But….. what happens when I click “Like” ???
    I never understand where that information goes and who receives it.
    Is it like FB, who gathers info to try to sell you stuff later on your sidebar?
    And what’s with the thumbs up, thumbs down, that appears on some comments?

    Ok, that’s enough questions. Believe me, I could go on.
    I opened my blog in June/11.
    In another month I am not a Newbie anymore!! YES, I am………

    If you need something to read…….. here is one of my blog posts from August/11
    – could be today………..

    https://thejoyofthewrittenword.wordpress.com/2011/08/11/help-i%e2%80%99ve-fallen-into-book-blogs-and-i-can%e2%80%99t-get-out/

    I like your blog, Charlie. Or is it Brian?

    Patricia

    • #69 by charlie nitric on December 6, 2011 - 3:09 pm

      Hi Pat –

      When you click like nothing happens except that you demonstrate your enjoyment and/or approval in the work you’ve just read. It’s like an applause but you click it lol. I think that’s how it should be. 🙂

  28. #70 by Exiled Star on December 27, 2011 - 4:14 pm

    Oh Charlie.
    I feel your pain. Honestly I do.
    I just got the internet back after going without for like 3 years.
    And I couldn’t get enough at first, but now I’m overwhelmed.

    I have to have an online presence, because I’m an artist and a writer, but…networking and all that stuff, sometimes it can be fun, sometimes it can be crazy making. I’m attention-deficit-disordered too, and the internet is full of distractions.

    Sometimes it really helps to push away from the computer and go take a long walk.

    • #71 by charlie nitric on January 1, 2012 - 12:42 pm

      Hello Star –

      I can so relate to the distractions of the internet and in life. I am much like that as well. Unfortunately, we need to deal with the cards we’re dealt in life. We make the best of it if we can. Thank you for reading me and for commenting :).

  29. #72 by Victoria Champion on March 17, 2012 - 10:43 pm

    Here is some advice:

    Nested comments are awful. Look at the responses to your first comment. They are unreadable. I recommend turning nested comment threads off.

    I don’t use WordPress, I use Blogger. It is super easy to configure. Blogger is owned by Google. Here are some other things you might want to look at:

    Get ONE button, that lets your readers share your blog to the social networking site of their choice. http://www.addthis.com/ If you use Blogger, it puts these buttons at the bottom of each of your posts automatically.

    This is a simple explanation of RSS. http://youtu.be/0klgLsSxGsU If you use Blogger, it puts the link for people to subscribe to your RSS automatically. I use Google Reader to collect those links. It is super easy. Think of an RSS reader as a newspaper, delivered to your computer. Your new posts can be delivered to other people’s computers this way too, without them having to go out of their way to click on a bookmark to your site.

    This is a simple explanation of blogs. http://youtu.be/NN2I1pWXjXI As I said before, I use Blogger.

    This is a simple explanation of social networking. http://youtu.be/6a_KF7TYKVc This video is old so I recommend you join Google Plus, instead of Myspace, which is no longer a very nice to place to go. G+ is super easy to use. The people are friendly and very helpful. It is where I found a link to this blog post.

    I have a very large group of writers and others involved with the literary world which I will share with you if you join. Just follow me at https://plus.google.com/u/0/108155601641892969907/about and I will share with you this circle of writers. They will appear in your stream there when you add the circle, so you can see their posts and interact with them.

    You asked if being simply an adequate writer is enough. The answer is no. If you are truly interested in being a writer, you want to be the best you can. This requires learning a skill just like any profession. You wouldn’t hire an untrained plumber or mechanic would you? Readers know good writers from adequate, or bad. They will not buy any more work from you after the first read if they don’t think you are good.

    Getting published is another story. Anyone can self publish using ebooks and print on demand services. However, it is a bit technical so you will want someone to help you.

    About blogging in general, There is no reason you must know all the behind the scenes how-to’s of how it all works, or constantly be tweaking or adjusting to multiple changes to your blog. Leave that to the professional geeks. Find a simple to use blogging service, with a simple template (appearance for your blog) and stick with it. Again, I recommend Blogger. It’s free.

    Hope this helps,
    Victoria

    • #73 by charlie nitric on April 2, 2012 - 6:37 pm

      Hello Victoria –

      Thank you for all the time and effort you put in to writing me a response to my post. I eliminated nested comments, or so I think I did.

      Thank you for the button, but I don’t know what to do with it. At this point, I’ve on week 4 of trying to figure out how to get my new book cover and Amazon, B & N, and Smashwords links to my book on those sites. I’m also at about the same place for my new author website that I’ve had for 2 months but unable to use at this point. I don’t know how to finish it up.

      I am on Google plus at this time. Thank you again for all your input and enjoy your evening :).

  30. #74 by martin meyers on January 24, 2013 - 2:53 pm

    wow you have a lot of comments and I can see why… great post charlie. I think most bloggers share your sentiments. Luckily I am married to a code writing wife, blogs take work — and especially the simple clean ones don’t just happen. Even though this is an older post I wanted to say hi and thanks for writing.

    • #75 by charlie nitric on February 26, 2013 - 4:16 pm

      Hi Martin. Thank for reading and for saying hello. Enjoy your day and stop by again soon. 🙂

  31. #76 by charlie nitric on June 19, 2011 - 9:30 pm

    I appreciate this very much. 🙂

  1. Charlie Nitric: Hi-Octane, No-Methane Writing For Men (and Women) | ObscureWriter.com
  2. Charlie Nitric: Hi-Octane, No-Methane Writing For Men (and Women) - ObscureWriter.com

Leave a Reply

